News Details

Temporary Closure of Runway 12-30 for Rehabilitation Project

May 21, 2018

***UPDATE***
Construction crews have completed the granite overlay work ahead of schedule in 4 days, well under the 8-day deadline. The 16-hour daily closure of Runway 30 will no longer be required for the week of May 21.

Although there are still elements of the project that need to be completed, the remaining construction is scheduled to take place during evening hours and with little burden to the community.

May 8, 2018
Runway 12-30, Long Beach Airport's main commercial runway, will be closed intermittently over an eight-day period for rehabilitation of critical areas. As a result of this closure, neighborhoods near the airport may notice a change in aircraft flight activity.

The need for this rehabilitation project was identified during a recent Federal Aviation Administration annual inspection and has since been monitored. Airport Engineering staff have determined it is vital to initiate these repairs now, as runway fitness is one of the LGB's obligations as a FAR Part 139 airport and as required by FAA Grant Assurances to maintain safe and serviceable movement areas.

The runway closures will occur Monday, May 14, 2018, through Friday, May 25, 2018. The closure schedule will be as follows:

Monday, May 14 at 10 p.m. - Tuesday, May 15 at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 15 at 10 p.m. - Wednesday, May 16 at 2 p.m.
Wednesday, May 16 at 10 p.m. - Thursday, May 17 at 2 p.m.
Thursday, May 17 at 10 p.m. - Friday, May 18 at 2 p.m.
Runway open from Friday, May 18 at 2 p.m. - Monday, May 21 at 10 p.m.
Monday, May 21 at 10 p.m. - Tuesday, May 22 at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 22 at 10 p.m. - Wednesday, May 23 at 2 p.m.
Wednesday, May 23 at 10 p.m. - Thursday, May 24 at 2 p.m.
Thursday, May 24 at 10 p.m. - Friday, May 25 at 2 p.m.

For a map showing current flight paths and temporary changes during the construction period, please click here.